Camp Treetops
An unplugged, educational summer camp in the Adirondacks, focusing on community, nature, and self-reliance.
▌ Editor's read Camp Treetops is an ACA-accredited overnight camp, with its accreditation expiring in 2025, as confirmed by the ACA search tool. The camp has a long history, operating since 1921, founded by Helen and George Gould, as stated on their 'About Us' page. It is a non-profit organization, indicated by the 'nonprofit' designation on their website. A notable strength is their staff-to-camper ratio of 1:3, which is explicitly mentioned on their 'Families' page. While the website details staff training, it does not explicitly mention background checks for staff. The camp offers a traditional overnight program for children aged 8-14, focusing on outdoor activities and community building.
★
ACA-accredited~300 standards audited
⌬
Since 1051921+ years operating
◍
Nonprofit operator501(c)(3) tax-exempt
Facts & Credentials
- Program type
- Overnight camp
- ACA accredited
- Yes
- Established
- 105 (1921 years)
- Operator
- Nonprofit organization
- Staff-to-camper ratio
- Published by camp see camp site →
Details
- Category: Overnight/Sleepaway
- Ages: 8–14
- Address: 7720 NY-86, Lake Placid, NY 12946
- Phone: (518) 523-9329
- Email: [email protected]
- Cost notes: Seven-week session costs $12,700. Four-week session for first-time campers in grades 2-5 costs $9,300.
1 session (0 one-week, 1 multi-week block), from Jun 27 to Aug 15.
Sessions ⛓
Bookable units published by the camp. Multi-week blocks marked ⛓ are indivisible — register for the full session.
- Session 1 Jun 27 – Aug 15, 2026 · 8 weeks · $12,700
↗ What parents like
- Unplugged environment
- Focus on nature and outdoor skills
- Working farm and organic gardens
↘ Watch for
- Seven-week minimum session for returning campers
- Limited four-week option for new campers
Logistics
- Lunch provided: Yes
- Transportation: No
- Financial aid: No
- Setting: outdoor
Frequently asked about Camp Treetops
- What ages does Camp Treetops accept?
- Camp Treetops is open to children ages 8–14. Camps publish their own age cutoffs, and some run mixed-age groups internally; check the registration page for that summer's grouping if your child sits at a boundary.
- How much does Camp Treetops cost?
- Camp Treetops publishes $1,814/week for the standard session. Seven-week session costs $12,700. Four-week session for first-time campers in grades 2-5 costs $9,300. Final cost depends on session length, sibling discounts, and whether extended care is added on.
- Is Camp Treetops accredited?
- Yes — Camp Treetops is accredited by the American Camp Association (ACA) and has been operating for 1921 years. ACA accreditation means the camp has been audited against ~300 health, safety, and program-quality standards covering staffing, supervision ratios, emergency response, and program design.
- Who runs Camp Treetops?
- Camp Treetops is operated by a nonprofit organization, with 1921 years of operating history. The operator type matters for tuition policy (refunds, financial aid eligibility) and for what kind of staff training pipeline the camp uses.
- Does Camp Treetops provide lunch?
- Yes — Camp Treetops includes lunch in the program. Confirm whether it's a hot lunch, cold lunch, or a snack-plus-bring-your-own setup, and ask about allergy accommodations if relevant.
Planning guides
Editorial checklists to use before you compare Camp Treetops with other camps.
- How to choose a summer camp · Use the decision checklist before you compare finalists.
- Day camp vs. overnight camp · Decide whether the format fits your child and schedule.
- Packing list and camp prep · Plan gear, medication notes, labels, and drop-off prep.
- Financial aid and scholarship camps · Compare aid policies, discounts, and application timing.
Camps near here
Same city, with age-overlapping options first. Other camps to consider alongside Camp Treetops.
- Camp Treetops - Seven · Camp Treetops · Ages 8–14 · $1,814/week
- CAN/AM Hockey - Girls Elite Training - Day · Lake Placid · Ages 10–17 · $1,099/week
- CAN/AM Hockey - Girls Elite Training - Resident · Lake Placid · Ages 10–17 · $1,399/week
- Camp Treetops · Camp Treetops · Ages 8–14 · $1,814/week
- Elite Hockey Camp - Boys 1 Week · Not specified · Ages 8–17 · $1,495/week
- Elite Hockey Camp - Boys 2 Weeks · Not specified · Ages 8–17 · $1,447/week
- Elite Hockey Camp - Boys 3 Weeks · Not specified · Ages 8–17 · $1,398/week
- Elite Hockey Camp - Girls 1 Week · Not specified · Ages 8–17 · $1,495/week