Lockwood Park - Pony Agventure Camp
A camp for children to learn about horses, farm animals, and outdoor activities.
▌ Editor's read The Pony Agventure Camp is offered by Lockwood Park, which is part of the Rockford Park District, indicating it is a municipal entity. The camp is a day camp, with specific dates and times listed on the 'Camps' page. While the website mentions 'trained staff' and 'safety is our top priority,' there is no explicit language regarding staff background checks. The camp focuses on ponies and farm animals, providing an outdoor and nature-based experience. Social media handles for Instagram and Facebook are provided on the main Lockwood Park website, suggesting active engagement. The website does not provide information on ACA accreditation or specific staff-to-camper ratios.
◍
Parks-department programPublic, often subsidized
Facts & Credentials
- Program type
- Day camp
- Operator
- Municipal parks department
Details
- Category: Outdoors/Nature
- Ages: 6–12
- Address: 520 S. Bird St., Rockford, IL 61102
- Phone: (815) 987-8809
- Email: [email protected]
- Cost notes: Cost not specified.
Logistics
- Lunch provided: No
- Transportation: No
- Financial aid: No
- Setting: mixed
Frequently asked about Lockwood Park - Pony Agventure Camp
- What ages does Lockwood Park - Pony Agventure Camp accept?
- Lockwood Park - Pony Agventure Camp is open to children ages 6–12. Camps publish their own age cutoffs, and some run mixed-age groups internally; check the registration page for that summer's grouping if your child sits at a boundary.
- How much does Lockwood Park - Pony Agventure Camp cost?
- Lockwood Park - Pony Agventure Camp publishes $175/week for the standard session. Cost not specified. Final cost depends on session length, sibling discounts, and whether extended care is added on.
- Who runs Lockwood Park - Pony Agventure Camp?
- Lockwood Park - Pony Agventure Camp is operated by the local parks department. The operator type matters for tuition policy (refunds, financial aid eligibility) and for what kind of staff training pipeline the camp uses.
- Does Lockwood Park - Pony Agventure Camp provide lunch?
- Lockwood Park - Pony Agventure Camp does not include lunch — campers bring their own. Most day camps without provided lunch are nut-free or nut-aware, so check the allergy policy before packing. Frozen water bottles double as ice packs and drinks; insulated lunch boxes hold below 40°F for about four hours.
Planning guides
Editorial checklists to use before you compare Lockwood Park - Pony Agventure Camp with other camps.
- How to choose a summer camp · Use the decision checklist before you compare finalists.
- Financial aid and scholarship camps · Compare aid policies, discounts, and application timing.
- Summer camp pricing in 2026 · Benchmark weekly cost before you commit a deposit.
Camps near here
Same city, with age-overlapping options first. Other camps to consider alongside Lockwood Park - Pony Agventure Camp.
- Ag-Venture · RW Farm Park · Ages 8–10 · $140/week
- Beattie Playground Program · Beattie Playground · Ages 5–12
- Bloom Park Playground Program · Bloom Park · Ages 5–12
- Harmon Park Playground Program · Harmon Park · Ages 5–12
- Highland Park Playground Program · Highland Park · Ages 5–12
- Keye-Mallquist Park Playground Program · Keye-Mallquist Park · Ages 5–12
- Lockwood Park Blazing Saddles Advanced Camp · Lockwood Park · Ages 10–15
- Ridge Park Playground Program · Ridge Park · Ages 5–12